

SUBJECT: APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES

MEETING: County Council DATE: 13th May 2021 DIVISION/WARDS AFFECTED: All

1. PURPOSE:

To appoint committees together with their membership and terms of reference in accordance with the Council's Constitution.

2. **RECOMMENDATION:**

That the following committees be appointed together with their membership as set below, and their terms of reference attached as appendices.

That Council appoints the Chair of Democratic Services Committee.

2.1 Area Committees

That Area Committees be appointed, with the terms of reference attached as appendix A.

North Monmouthshire, Ward Members for:

Castle

Llanelly Hill

Grofield

Priory

Lansdown

Croesonen

Llanover

Goetre Fawr

Llanwenarth Ultra

Mardy

Llanfoist Fawr

Crucornev

Cantref

Central Monmouthshire, Ward Members for:

Mitchel Troy

Llangybi Fawr

Raglan

Llantillio Crossenny

Dixton with Osbaston

Wyesham

Usk

Llanbadoc Trellech United Overmonnnow Drybridge

Lower Wye, Ward Members for:

St Christopher's

St Kingsmark

Shirenewton

Devauden

St Mary's

Thornwell

St Arvans

Caerwent

Larkfield

Severnside, Ward Members for:

Dewstow

West End

Portskewett

Rogiet

The Elms

Severn

Mill

Green Lane

Caldicot Castle

2.2 GOVERNANCE AND AUDIT COMMITTEE

That the Governance and Audit Committee be appointed, with the terms of reference attached as appendix B.

That the membership of the Committee comprises 11 members of the Council, to be appointed in accordance with political balance, plus one lay member.

That it be noted that the Chair of the Governance and Audit Committee will be appointed by the Committee.

2.3 DEMOCRATIC SERVICES COMMITTEE

That a Democratic Services Committee be appointed, with the terms of reference attached as appendix C.

That the membership of the Committee comprises 12 members of the Council, politically balanced.

That the Chair of the Democratic Services Committee be appointed by the Council.

2.4 INVESTMENT COMMITTEE

As determined by Full Council on 10 May 2018 with powers as set out by the Council's Asset Management Strategy. The Committee is to comprise the Leader, Deputy Leader, Cabinet Member for Resources and the Leaders of the 2 next largest Groups. Terms of reference set out in Appendix G

2.4 REGULATORY AND OTHER COMMITTEES

That the following Committees, together with their terms of reference, attached as appendix D, be appointed, subject to any changes to be notified by the political groups.

- (a) Planning (16 Members)
- (b) Licensing and Regulatory (12 Members)
- (c) Sub-Committees under the Licensing Act 2003
- Three sub-committees of three members to be established to meet on Monday, Wednesday and Friday.
- The Chairman, Vice Chairman and Opposition spokesman of the Licensing and Regulatory Committee to be appointed as Chairman of each sub-committee
- The nine remaining members be called to attend sub-committee meetings on a rota basis in discussion with the Chairman of the relevant sub-committee.
- (d) Appeals Committee (3 members)

3 members to be nominated on an ad hoc basis.

- (e) Appointment of Local Authority Governors Committee (7 Members)
- (f) Standing Advisory Council on Religious Education (SACRE) (6 Members)

Persons representing such Christian denominations and other religions and denominations in such religions as in the opinion of the County Council will approximately reflect the principal religious traditions in the area.

Persons to represent such associations representing teachers as in the opinion of the County Council ought to be represented, having regard to the circumstances of the area.

- i. Monmouthshire County Council 6 members
- ii. Christian denominations and other religions and denominations as set out below:

13 members

The Church in Wales 1 member
The Roman Catholic Church 1 member

Free Churches 4 members Baha'l Faith 1 member Buddhist Faith 1 member Hindu Faith 1 member Muslim Faith 1 member Jewish Faith 1 member Sikh Faith 1 member Teachers' Associations 7 members Co - opted 2 members

The Chair of SACRE will be the Cabinet Member for Children and Young People as agreed by Council in May 2018.

- (g) The following committees will be appointed as and when required, based on the below membership arrangements, and the constitution:
 - Appointment Committee (5 members)
 - Remuneration Committee (Chief Executive) (5 members)
 - Investigation Committee (3 members)
 - Disciplinary Committee (3 members)

2.5 SELECT COMMITTEES

That the following Select Committees be appointed, together with their terms of reference, attached as appendix E:

- Economy and Development (9 Members)
- Strong Communities (9 Members)
- Children and Young People (9 Members)
- Adults (9 Members)
- Public Service Board (9 Members)

That the following members be co-opted to the Children and Young People Select Committee:

Voting on Education Issues only

Mrs E Thomas (Church in Wales)
VacancyParent Governor Representative)
Vacancy (Parent Governor Representative)
Vacancy (Catholic Church)

Non-Voting

Vacancy (ASCL) Vacancy (NAHT) F. Middleton (NASUWT) P. Strong (NEU) Vacancy (Free Church Federal Council)
M. Harris (Association of School Governors)

That each Select Committee shall be entitled to recommend to Council the appointment of a maximum of five people as non-voting co-optees.

2.6 STANDARDS COMMITTEE

That the Standards Committee be appointed with the terms of reference attached as appendix F.

That the membership of the Committee comprise 3 members of the authority other than the Leader, 5 voting co-optees and one community member.

3. REASONS

To ensure the Council is compliant with its constitution.

4. RESOURCE IMPLICATIONS:

Members to be remunerated in line with the Independent Remuneration Panel for Wales Annual Report for this Council year unless explicitly requested to opt-out of receiving some or all of their remuneration by individual Members.

5. CONSULTEES:

Senior Leadership Team, Cabinet, Monitoring Officer

6. SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT AND EQUALITY IMPLICATIONS:

None

7. SAFEGUARDING AND CORPORATE PARENTING IMPLICATIONS:

None

8. BACKGROUND PAPERS:

Monmouthshire County Council Constitution, as revised March 2021.

9. AUTHOR:

Nicola Perry, Senior Democracy Officer Email: nicolaperry@monmouthshire.gov.uk